Confidence is Key

1/27/17

Philippians 1:6

“being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ”.

Many years ago, the Lord began a good work in me. I was just a little girl then, and I had absolutely no idea what life would be like. There have been many ups and downs since the moment I got saved as a kid. There have been countless difficulties and trials. But my God has been working in my life. I can look back and be confident in that truth.

Now I am 21 years old living as a missionary in Kenya. And honestly, it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, if not the hardest. There are struggles every single day. The enemy tries desperately to throw anything and everything he can at me, hoping it will trip me up. He does not want the work of the Lord to be done, I can tell you that for sure. Yet it is in that very thing I can find comfort.

The enemy does not want the work of the Lord to be done… So when I am struggling, when I feel the enemy is on constant watch, continually attacking, I can be encouraged. God is working! His will is being done. His work is being accomplished in and through me. As a Christian, this perspective is precious.

“Beloved, do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you: but rejoice to the extent that you partake of Christ’s sufferings, that when His glory is revealed, you may also be glad with exceeding joy”.

1 Peter 4:12&13.

In the most difficult season of my life thus far, I can take confidence, take joy, that the hand of my Creator is at work in my life. He began a long time ago, and is faithful to continue working until the moment I die. Thank you, God, for never being finished with me.

Leave a Reply

