Victory

2/6/17

2 Samuel 5:19

So David inquired of the Lord, saying, “Shall I go up against the Philistines? Will You deliver them into my hand?” And the Lord said to David, “Go up, for I will doubtless deliver the Philistines into your hand”.

The Philistines…the enemy. They heard David had been anointed king, and so they went to find him. They went to destroy him. Immediately, David does none other than seek God for guidance. He doesn’t act off of impulse or emotion, although I would imagine he is probably feeling a lot of things right now.

“What should I do, Lord? How would you have me act in this moment?”

I do not ask this nearly enough. When difficulties arise – when the enemy tries to attack me – how often do I find myself inquiring of the Lord? Instead of saying, “Help me, Lord, what do I do?” I too quickly base my actions and thoughts off of what my feelings tell me I should do in the moment. This, I know, is so wrong. Forgive me, God, for acting on impulse and feeling.

So I certainly need to take a lesson from David here, as he models this amazing example of how to act in the midst of a difficult situation. But there’s something else that strikes me about this passage. David asks, essentially, how he should respond to this circumstance. He asks the Lord if he should fight. Then he asks if the Lord will help him win, should he fight. THE LORD ANSWERS. I repeat, we talk to a God who not only listens, but replies. That’s incredible. He tells David to fight, and that He will absolutely give David the victory.

The Philistines represent, to me, difficulties in life. Be them personal struggles, temptations, thoughts, etc. “God, should I fight against these things? And if I do, will you give me victory over them?” This is a timely passage, as, in one way or another, I have been inquiring this of the Lord. In the same way He answers David, He answers me. God wants me to fight, to do battle daily, not to fall prey to my enemies: my thoughts, feelings, and struggles. He has already given me the victory over these things of the flesh. “My enemies did their best to kill me, but the Lord rescued me. The Lord is my strength and my song; He has given me victory” Psalm 118:13&14.

Leave a Reply

